Allman Brothers guitarists leaving the band

 Allman Brothers Band guitarists Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks shocked the jam band community last night (January 8) by announcing that they will be leaving the band at the end of 2014.

The current version of the Allman Brothers Band — featuring founding members Gregg Allman (keyboards, vocals), Jaimoe (drums) and Butch Trucks (drums) along with newer additions Marc Quinones (percussion), Oteil Burbridge (bass), Derek Trucks (guitar) and Haynes (guitar, vocals) — is the longest running lineup of the group, having been together since 2000. The Allmans celebrate their 45th anniversary as a band this year.

In a joint statement, Haynes and Trucks said: "For 25 years and 15 years respectively, we've had the honor and pleasure of playing, living, learning, and traveling with the Allman Brothers Band, one of the truly legendary rock and roll bands. We will be forever grateful for the opportunity and the experience, and for the love, enthusiasm, and support of the incredible fans.

"We are both preparing to dig even deeper into our various creative and musical endeavors and, as a result, 2014 will be our final year as part of the band. We are looking forward to seeing our loyal ABB fans at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta this Friday night January 10th and in March at the Beacon Theater in New York City as we celebrate the 45th Anniversary of the band."

Comments (0)

Add Comment